Favorite Water Treatments/Filters?

Meegads

I'm relatively new to backpacking - I've done day hikes pretty much my entire life but I've never done an overnighter or longer.  (Planning on rectifying that soon.)  How do you guys handle finding water on a long trek?  Do you prefer water treatments or filters?  Anyone use a Lifestraw or Lifestraw Go?  Pros?  Cons?  I like the idea of being able to find water along the trail and not have to carry a ton of it.

red_fairview

I have had a Katadyn Vario for a couple of years now and am very happy with it.  It's reliable, can be used with dirty water sources and does a really good job of improving the taste of otherwise skunky water sources. Its geared toward supporting a small crew (maybe 4 or 5 people) so its bigger then other water filters out there, but it does fill up a 3 liter bag quickly.  If the water source is dirty you can switch to longer life mode which forces the water through a cleanable porcelain filter, or you can switch to faster flow in clean water which uses the paper filter and activated carbon only. 

Pros:

• Great for groups (up to 2 quarts per minute)
  • Improves the flavor of water by using Activated Carbon
  • Reliable

The downsides

• Bulkier then other products
  • Costs around $80 new
  • Replacement filter cost ~$40
  • Filter can freeze if it gets to cold

If you are hiking in the mountains with consistent access to clear water you could try using a UV purifier.  They are quick and light weight. On the downside they rely on batteries, and won't work if the water is cloudy.

• Like 1

Wishful_Hiker