trekking pole advice

mtruxfan

I've been walking for 49 years but just getting into hiking recently. I thought the entire idea of trekking or hiking poles was a waste of money but after reading and talking to some folks using them I'm willing to change my mind. My knees aren't as young as the used to be and I've heard a good set of sticks would help. I've been looking at some in the $100.00 price range. I've noticed that some have flex tips, my question is, how much flex in a flex tip? I don't think I would want a tip to be too flexible where it bends under the pole. I'll be hiking in the Smokies and northeast Tn. Any help , advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm 5-9 and weigh 220.

I've been walking for 49 years but just getting into hiking recently. I thought the entire idea of trekking or hiking poles was a waste of money but after reading and talking to some folks using them I'm willing to change my mind. My knees aren't as young as the used to be and I've heard a good set of sticks would help. I've been looking at some in the $100.00 price range. I've noticed that some have flex tips, my question is, how much flex in a flex tip? I don't think I would want a tip to be too flexible where it bends under the pole. I'll be hiking in the Smokies and northeast Tn. Any help , advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm 5-9 and weigh 220.

I don't even do day hikes without my poles. They have saved me a lot of wear ad tear on the knees and have been an assist on may uphill climbs and water crossings. The flex tips are mostly for some protection of the pole shaft flexing at he tip as opposed to bending and damaging the pole.