staying warm...no matter what

DeadLeaf

Probably my weakest subject in terms of diverse conditions, quality of gear, and weight over long distance travel. I don't have much experience with snow. Last time I was stuck in the snow I remember how freaking cold it was, but we had a cabin to stay in. My experience in super cold weather is next to zero. 

The gear I have right now will only get me so far before I have to pack more as the temperature drops. So packing less, and packing the right gear for the job is top priority. 

Please let me know how you think my gear will hold up, and what gear I might want to replace in order to stay warm no matter what. Any recommendations would be appreciated. 

I have a one person 3 season tent with a rain fly- eureka apex solo. Still haven't used it in the rain though. 

I have a compressible 45 degree mummy bag by alpine which I wish I wouldn't have bought because it's too warm for warm weather and seemingly not warm enough for 40 degree weather. I wouldn't last long if I took it to freezing temps. I bought a liner that brings it to about 5 degrees but that is too heavy to bring. Warmer mummy bags seem to be far too heavy. I have a better sleeping bag combo for 0 degree but it is also very bulky. I found it kinda useless when I took it to Amsterdam and stayed in hotels. The 45 degree mummy bag would be the perfect weight if it only did the job by itself. 

I need proper cold/ rain gear for my head, hands and under armor..as well as the right jacket. It needs to be rain proof, light weight and warm. I had the perfect jacket one time but it's long since broken and i feel i could use a lighter weight jacket anyways. 

Any other suggestions would be great :) 

Edit note: I just came across and read Aron's blog about staying warm. Good stuff!

Thanks for reading 

-DeadLeaf 

Edited by DeadLeaf
  • Like 1

• 3 weeks later...