Soap recommendations?

TrailJunkie

Hi Everyone, 

I'm in the market for portable body wash/soap.  I am new to backpacking (been mostly doing day hikes) and starting to build up gear now for overnight camping (I also am a bit of a travel bug and would like to use this for overseas backpacking).  What have you used in the past you thought worked well?

Thank you!  

I've been using Sea To Summit Wilderness Wash because it comes in a tiny container, so fits nicely in the pack. I think other similar products work as well, like Campsuds and Coglans Camp Soap available at WalMart. Some people love Dr. Bronners, but I found the peppermint off-putting. I bought a bottle of No-Rinse once, but the bottle leaked so I never got to see if it works.

The stuff I use works o.k., but I try to use as little as possible in the woods and never get really clean anyway. It makes a decent body wash in a real shower and comes in containers that are easy to pack.

One of the benefits of backpacking is you are supposed to get dirty, no soap for me :)

Baby wipes work well for cleaning hands and face and pack up easy. You can leave a couple out to dry before a trip and then just re-wet when you want a bath on the trail.