PCT or West Roadie

Pete_smith14

Pete_smith14

So I'm currently a freshman in college with a good amount of experience backpacking in the Grand Canyon, Canadian Rockies, and the Minnesota boundary waters, and am looking to take a development year or two after graduating; half for myself and half for study. I'm looking at a window of about 6 months that I'll have time to backpack over the warm months and am having a difficult time deciding between doing the pct or taking a road trip all over the west and up to Alaska.

PCT: 

pros: easier to work out permits and timing/logistics, sense of continuity, obviously the beautiful surroundings, sense of accomplishment from personally hiking so far

cons: no flexibility, some stretches of less interesting terrain, stretches in urban areas, feeling never more than a day from civilization.

roadie:

pros: seeing most of the country, getting to see the awesomeness of Alaska, variety, flexibility, the option to take prolonged hikes where you're extremely isolated

cons: LOTS of time in the car, possibly more expensive from gas/car maintence?, more complicated in permitting/scheduling.

what do you guys think? 

My wife and I drove to Alaska (from FL) when we finished grad school. That was 10 years ago and we still talk about that trip. You will definitely be spending money on gas, but you can do the trip cheap between camping and hostels.

If you are looking for a social experience, you will have to hunt it out if you drive. With that said, everyone up north is really nice. A truck driver offered us pot, a couple in Anchorage offered to let us sleep/shower at their house, in the middle of nowhere Alaska we slept in a "renovated" schoolbus vs pitch our tent in the rain, ...

Other than Denali, permits are either easy or not needed.