Teton crest trail

Kaysman

Hello, I am new to backpacking and my wife and I are taking our first extended day trip to the TCT. Unfortunately, the only week we can go, due to work schedules, is the middle of June. We have been preparing for quite some time now and feel prepared with very good and light weight gear, but if anyone has hiked this trail in mid June what will we need to prepare for? Thanks!

Edited by Kaysman
Missing info

I only hiked the TCT in August and there was snow on the trail at Paintbrush Divide. It's going to be early in the season and may not be doable with light weight gear depending on how much snow falls March - May.

You should have some more southerly alternatives and follow the snow conditions as we get closer to your time off. There are a lot of trails in the Rockies and I had great trips in southern CO & New Mexico in June. The Teton Crest is especially beautiful, but I wouldn't want to post-hole the whole thing.

• Like 1

Overnights are harder to come by in June around here but not impossible. Toejam is spot on about the Crest though; usually the earliest you can go over Paintbrush without an ice axe is July 10 but it has been MUCH later some years and much earlier some years.

We are expected to be on the verge of above average precipitation this spring, but there's a good chance much of our precipitation will come as rain this year.

http://www.cpc.ncep.noaa.gov/products/predictions/long_range/seasonal.php?lead=3

It's a wonderful time of year to be here at lower elevations. If I can help with local alternatives or some in southern Colorado please let me know. Happy trails. 

• Like 1

Thanks for all of the info. I would gladly take other alternatives for some 3 or 4 day hikes in Colorado or anywhere in that area.