Backpack and tent for photographer?

bluecosmo5050

bluecosmo5050

Hello, I am new in backpacking. However, not new to Landscape photography. I bought 60L hiking bag, which seems big enough but once I put foot, 3L water bladder, and clothes in it, it's pretty much full. I get my camera in there by putting it in a lowepro top loader that goes in the bag or it can harness on my chest, I can only carry one lens. This is all fine but it only has straps on the sides, the tripod weighs my right shoulder down pretty hard, I don't want to counter balance it or it would be way too heavy. I'm looking for a way to put the tripod on the bottom of the bag. Some bags have this, mine doesn't. That way it's weight is even going across. I am open to buying a whole new bag if someone can suggest something. I would like to bring more than one lens if I bought a new bag, it would need to have the tripod either on the back or on the bottom and just use the sides for hiking sticks. I do not have a tent yet, one of the main reasons is because I have no idea how I'm gonna possibly fit a tent in there. I mean I have VERY little in there. I'm not talking a lot of food or clothes. I've got a small mesh lunchbox and that's it, shirt, socks, ear muffs, boggin. I also have a very small messenger bag without the straps connected in which I put my Bible in and notebook. It looks about half full at that point, but once I stick the camera in there with the lowepro top loader, it's completely full. I can't stick the camera in there without it being in the top loader or it'll be going all over the place. I can keep the camera on my chest if I have to though. I'd really like a 2 person tent, although I need it to be light and if it has to be one person that is fine and I can get two of them if someone else goes with me. For people going with me, I give them a small 30L hiking bag and they just carry water. Usually Three 3L bladders.

• Premium Member
Aaron Zagrodnick