shoe suggestions ??

coolbikeguy

coolbikeguy

hey all .... total newb here. im looking for suggestions on a beginners hiking shoe. a little background on me ... ive had 2 knee surgeries and the shoes i mostly wear are the brooks beast which are a motion control sneaker with lots of support.

so heres what im looking for

beginner shoe so ....

1. cheap .... not looking to spend a fortune to just get started. ill do that once i know we are going to be committed to this new kind of exercise.

2. supportive/traction .... as i mentioned above .... the brroks beast i wear are like standing on a sheet of plywood... lol  traction is also important for wet slippery rocks

3. light weight

4. waterproof or not ??  im thinking not to keep weight down and its coming up on summer so they will dry any way.

thanks for all you help and suggestions 

I hike in trail runners. In general, if you have a pair of sneakers that fit well and are comfortable, I would try hiking in those before I bought something else.

You definitely don't need waterproof hiking boots to go hiking, especially in late spring through early fall (or maybe at all depending on where you are hiking).

Give a little more info about where/when you plan on hiking and maybe others can give a little more feedback/advice.

• Like 1

coolbikeguy
6 minutes ago, wspscott said:

I hike in trail runners. In general, if you have a pair of sneakers that fit well and are comfortable, I would try hiking in those before I bought something else.

You definitely don't need waterproof hiking boots to go hiking, especially in late spring through early fall (or maybe at all depending on where you are hiking).

Give a little more info about where/when you plan on hiking and maybe others can give a little more feedback/advice.

where .. is in pa md del ..... nothing crazy just dirt based and some rocky trail ...... when .... we started last sat  lol    now till whenever  :-)