Hello From Stick's Blog

Stick

I guess I should have done a hello thread before posting...oh well, better late than never huh?

Anyway, My name is Chad but I go by Stick on the trail. This was not a trail name that has been given to me on the trail, but it is one that everyone on the trail knows me by.

My wife and I hiked out on our very first hike back in September of 2009. We hiked from the visitor center at Amicalola Falls to Neels Gap. We were total newbs and our packs showed it, granted her pack was a little better off than mine... My HUGE kelty Red Cloud 5600 was packed out with 56+ pounds, and as if this were not enough, I also picked up items other hikers left behind on the trail... My wifes Granite Gear Nimbus Meridian Ki was packed out with 31 lbs, which was 1/3 of her weight!

Despite our heavy loads, we did enjoy ourselves and were determined to get back out...although with somewhat lighter packs if possible... So, I started feeding the fire.

Being from Mississippi, there is not much here for us to gather from. No real trails, or gear shops...so we have to drive or do everything online. I had already been a member of Backpacker.com but then ended up joining about 4 or 5 other forums, not too mention visiting a number of blogs. In fact, this is what lead me to starting up my own blog, aptly named....

Sticks Blog

My blog started out as more of a "live" journal that I could share with others as well as have full access to anywhere I had the internet, but in the long run I feel like it has turned into a little more than that...