Beginner Hiker

lbrown13

Hey folks!

First time posting! I am new to hiking. I am a really big guy. 6'5 and 265 lbs (huge feet too! lol). I have started hiking

with my girlfriend and I want to get whatever necessary equipment I need to help me be safe

and that will help me enjoy these hikes. I am starting out relatively slow on short (1 - 2 miles) easy trails.

What are your recommendations for gear? 

Thank you in advance!!!!

Larry

• Premium Member
Aaron Zagrodnick

Hi Larry and welcome to the forum! Any particular gear item or category you're looking for advice on? Sounds like you're starting off with some short hikes that should be pretty straightforward. Here's an article on the 10 essentials from Issue 21 that could be worth a read as well:

https://www.trailgroove.com/issue21.html?autoflip=11

Aaron,

Thank you so much for your response! This article definitely helps! 

I have purchased some Merrell hiking shoes and they are wonderful. 
I think maybe I need hiking poles to help me with my balance.  Perhaps a 

small backpack? Just looking for suggestions.

Thank you again!!!

Larry

Ok so first question is how handy are you?

for poles I would recommend the carbon fiber trekking poles from Costco. Around $30 but they are solid and a great place to start. 

Are you looking for a day hiking set up or an overnight? 

Best advice I got and wish I would have taken at first was buy quality to start because your going to end up with it anyways. I wasted so much money on cooksets and different “must have items” when I could have gotten the same item much cheaper because it wasn’t labeled hiking or backpacking. I can share my current gear list if interested and also can point you I. The direction of some quality gear that won’t break the bank!

Thank you Jaegle for your reply!

I am mainly interested in day hiking. However, I would like to be a little prepared