Skyway Loop Trail/Talladega National Forrest

Opus

Hello! 

I am planning a solo hike for this coming March, and I have settled on the Skyway Loop Trail in the Talladega National Forrest. Since this is my first time in that area, I am hoping to chat with some folks who have hiked that trail and/or have experience with that area in early March. 

Any help is appreciated.

I am not a newbie, but this will be my first completely solo hike, so I am doing as much planning as possible.

Opus

https://www.alltrails.com/trail/us/alabama/skyway-loop-trail

http://www.secretfalls.com/hiking/skyway-loop-trail

Suppose you're referring to the loop formed by combining the Skyway Trail, the Chinnabee Silent Trail, and Pinhoti Trail, which forms a 18+-mile loop beginning at Adam's Gap.

I added this loop to a Pinhoti Tr NoBo thru-hike to the Benton Mckaye Tr SoBo to Springer MT one Feb.

Cheaha SP is a an Alabama gem. I always try to schedule a b'fast sunrise or dinner sunset meal on the deck at the Vista Cliffside Restaurant deck. Walking out on the cliff edge was one of my favorite things to experience.

Yup that’s the one. I have 3 days carved out to take my time and enjoy it. 

Are there any particular sights or areas that you recommend lingering over or a particularly nice campsite?

My plan is to hike it clockwise and camp on the ridge my second night. 

Cheaha Falls, CF Shelter, Devil'sRun, Lake Chinabee, etc. You have 3 days. Go explore. Create your own adventure. You could experience Cheaha SP and the AL state high pt too if you did a lollipop ,  add a 5 m stick(spur) to the loop. Park at Adams Gap, the SP, or lake or...? Look at the map at 5:11 

This is why I came here! 

Thanks a bunch for the info. I was able to print that map of the website to pair up with my Alltrails map.

Where is that AL high point? I would like to add that to my list of things to see