Sleeping bags

akszewczyk

Hey guys -

New to the site but not new to hiking - just been out of the game for a few years and I know that technology has changed a bit. Looking for some decent 3-season sleeping bags (primarily for backpacking) and would love some guidance/opinions on any that have served you well or not worked at all.

Namaste

Ang

I have a Go Lite Women's Adventure 20 degree down bag. Pros: Warm, fairly light. Cons: Mummy bags are really tight! I'm considering trading in my bag for a quilt.

I have a 20 degree bag that is nothing special, but I have an awesome sleeping bag liner that I absolutely swear by: Sea to Summit's Reactor Thermolite Liner. It really does add 15deg of warmth. The best part about having a liner is that you can just wash the liner after a trip, extending the life of your sleeping bag. I'm also a fan of just using the liner on really hot nights. Having a thermal liner gives you more flexibility regardless of what bag you end up getting. (http://www.seatosummit.com/products/display/24).

• Premium Member
Aaron Zagrodnick

Hey guys -

New to the site but not new to hiking - just been out of the game for a few years and I know that technology has changed a bit. Looking for some decent 3-season sleeping bags (primarily for backpacking) and would love some guidance/opinions on any that have served you well or not worked at all.

Namaste

Ang

Western Mountaineering's offerings have served me well but there's a ton of great options out there. Where are you planning on using the bag?

Predominantly Michigan for now seeing as that's where I'm at...but I'd like to use it out of state as well as we continue on expanding our travel resume.We have a few friends who live in Arizona, Utah, Colorado, and California so I am sure we will be out there backpacking at some point in the future. Need a bag thats versatile and well made.

• Premium Member
Aaron Zagrodnick