Hiking with a Toddler

Pomeroki

Hi all, New member, first post.

I'll jump right into it. I'm planning a trip to Yellowstone this summer with a friend. She has a boy who will turn 3 a couple months before our expected travel dates. I'm curious if anyone has any recommendations on various hikes that they've done in Yellowstone with toddlers in regards to ease/safety. Both my friend and myself are very capable hikers. I regularly hike 5-7 miles 1-2 times per week, sometimes over 10 on a weekend while carrying a 35lb pack. My friend also used to hike a lot, though she has tapered off since becoming a single mother (she is still an avid gym goer). 

We're still discussing whether we're just going to camp and then day hike, or if we want to attempt a short back country camping trip. From the physical perspective, I don't see an issue with the back country.

I have plenty of experience with 'camping' outside of a standard campground and carrying all of my gear in a pack with fishing and a few onions as my only food source for a few days. I've also done a few week long floats with my dad in the past. 

My friend is excited about the idea of back country hiking, but I'm not sure if she is aware of all the potential difficulties associated with it. 
I have found this post on the forum that links to a great article about the fun and excitement with a few pointers on how to keep kids going during a hike. Excellent read!

And then I came across Trail Groove Issue 51, which I purchased to read the section on 'Backpacking with Kids: The Early Years'. Also a great read with some brilliant pointers for gear and prepping for backpacking.