Camping/Backpacking with little'uns

John Maniscalco

John Maniscalco

I have a 1.5 year old and wanted to start getting her out for some overnights in the outdoors. She loves hiking and being outdoors, but I want to try our hands at camping/backpacking with her. I am going to try a car camping trip this fall and go from there. What I am asking from all of you is for any pointers, tricks, tips, family friendly camp areas in North Carolina or experiences. I want her to enjoy herself and make it a successful outing. I have been doing this for 8+ years and have many of what we will need for the trip. Thanks in advance!

tmountainnut

I have a 1.5 year old and wanted to start getting her out for some overnights in the outdoors. She loves hiking and being outdoors, but I want to try our hands at camping/backpacking with her. I am going to try a car camping trip this fall and go from there. What I am asking from all of you is for any pointers, tricks, tips, family friendly camp areas in North Carolina or experiences. I want her to enjoy herself and make it a successful outing. I have been doing this for 8+ years and have many of what we will need for the trip. Thanks in advance!

I have a 6 year old daughter, and I've taken her "backpacking" for the last 4 summers now.