Hello, I'm new to hiking and to the forum.

Kowboy13

Hello Everyone...

I am from south Texas, the reason I joined this forum is to learn as much as possible and for health reasons. I am a diabetic and if have four herniated disc, my Dr. Wants me to start walking so if I have to walk I might as well do it in the woods were I enjoy being...

Kowboy

Hello Everyone...

I am from south Texas, the reason I joined this forum is to learn as much as possible and for health reasons. I am a diabetic and if have four herniated disc, my Dr. Wants me to start walking so if I have to walk I might as well do it in the woods were I enjoy being...

Kowboy

Kowboy,

I was very pleased to read of your interest in walking and perhaps hiking.

Just remember, take your time and don't rush into any physical activity.

You wrote your MD wants you to start walking, so I assume you have been given a thorough physical and the go-ahead to proceed. Remember some of the health concerns with diabetes are directly impacted by walking/hiking. All hikers (especially diabetics) need to beware of the symptoms of frequent urination, increased thirst, and increased hunger. Diabetics may also have foot issues due to reduced blood circulation or blood pressure problems, so a good pair of shoes/boots is totally required.

Are you Type 1 insulin dependant, or Type 2? Obviously then you must carry insulin or metformin. If you are going to hike in the woods or any remote area, you should have someone along with you in case you have a health emergency. At the very least make sure someone knows where you are going and have a phone with you at all times just in case.

Go slow, no need to rush, especially with four herniated discs! Maybe go for 1/2 hour a couple of days the first week or so, and build up to a longer time. It's not how far you go that matters, make sure you enjoy yourself, so it's not like work or physical therapy. It's just for fun! And for Gods sake watch out for that San Antonio, Texas sun!