Quality gear recommendation?

aguerra.1993

aguerra.1993

Hello everyone, I am new to these forums.

I am looking for a sleeping bag to take to Arizona, as I am joining the Arizona Conservation Corps. I am fairly new to backpacking but the gear I am purchasing will see a lot of use. I will be using it 9 days at a time and then 5 days off in between for about 4 and a half months. And most likely I will use it a few of those 5 days off so I don't have to pay expensive accommodation. I am looking for something rated to 20 degrees, hopefully around 2 lbs 3 oz, but the lighter the better, and compressible. After much research, I see that investing in a good sleeping bag is crucial for compressibility and durability, which are important to me, and I plan to use this bag all over the country/world. I guess a fair budget is around $300, but if it is truly worth it, I will consider a bit more. The program recommends a 0 degree bag but I think that is probably overkill, and I can always wear a puffy jacket to sleep.

Also, I am looking for a tent, currently I think I will go with the Tarptent Scarp 1, it may seem extreme but like I said, I want to use it in many conditions around the world. I am a photographer and I plan to do backcountry trips in some fairly extreme places. As for a sleeping pad, I have been looking at the Klymit Insulated Static V pad. Thanks for any help, it is greatly appreciated.

Shaun Squid

I got a quilt from enlightenedequipment.com and love it. You can customize to your likings, they are extremely light, and pack down to nothing. If you are worried about packability and weight, down is the only way to go. Make sure to get a dry sack to keep the bag dry or you are in for a sleepless night.

As for a tent, I have a hennesy hammock that I swear by but I understand they are not for everybody. I will let others chime in on the tarptent you have in mind.

You might check out the REI igneo down bag: http://www.rei.com/product/862532/rei-igneo-sleeping-bag