Hello From Alaska

Da'engineer

Da'engineer

I am pretty new to backpacking started last year and racked up 50 miles so far hiking around Alaska. Most overnighters  since my wife can't go more then one night without a proper shower (Ideas to extend my trip help :D?). We've explored a lot and had a lot of fun haven't ran into many issues so far other then some heavy packs and a ton of mud our first hike. Weeding out our packs and making them lighter now. Still need to get a scale to measure everything out.. still need to get some proper reflective guy lines and some more stakes. 

Here is some pictures from our trips.

100_1815.thumb.JPG.34836a42e18d0952e6197100_1830.thumb.JPG.3afb20900c668ea356e6e100_1205.thumb.JPG.6b4574b9c511a25101320100_1197.thumb.JPG.aa7c823e869c11b79bde9

Here is a sort list of my gear:

-REI half dome 2 plus

-Highland 65L pack (Yeah I kinda got cheap there :P)

-Katadyn Pro 

-Thermacell Scout mat

-Cheap-oh Sleeping bag

-MSR stove

-Merrell chameleon's  

-Cheap-oh collapsible bowls

-ENO doublenest for when we want to kick back and relax

Other then that Me and my wife are 23 and been married for 2 years I work for the United States Air force as a weapons load crew member. And look forward to many years of backpacking! 

Welcome to the Forum!  I'm a Midwesterner, but I just came back from a two week trip in Alaska.  We hiked the Kesugi Ridge Trail in Denali State Park in 4 days - the scenery was awesome and the weather was mild.  That trail could probably be done in 3 days or 2 if you're a fast hiker (it's only 27.4 miles from Coal Creek Trailhead to Beyer's Lake Trailhead).  Good luck and thanks for your service to our country!

Da'engineer

That's great! Me and my wife want to backpack Denali some day but we would need a dog sitter. Since Denali doesn't allow dogs on the trails.