good morning y'all-seeking advice

smallywood

Greetings! Im Mike from OH. I was feeling adventurous while planning a trip to AZ for a friends wedding, and decided to hit some of the national parks while Im out there. Problem is, I have no prior experience hiking and was looking for some advice. I know there is a lot involved, but Im more concentrated on the timing mechanism of this whole trip, as I have rented a car for a week and will be making the trip from the grand canyon (north) to vegas. I would like to see as many different parks as I can and planned my trip accordingly: (sunday-sunday, ending in vegas saturday) grand canyon, bryce, zion, red cliffs, and possibly lake mead (i would like to go kayaking or something water related with my gf). I have the trip timed for to drives to the parks, i just need to get a better idea of the time I should spend at each site (as I need to reserve a camping spot at each park). Id like to do some star gazing as its always been a hobby of mine. I dont think I am properly trained to do any back packing and should stick with the trails. Thank you for taking the time to read this and hope you can help me with this dilemma. Regardless, this trip is going to be one of a lifetime!

Hi Mike, sounds like some adventure you are planning. I'm gonna try to lay down some basic tips and maybe someone will come along and join in with some helpful info.