recommend tour, 1st time in USA

Andras

Hello,

I am a Hungarian physicist recently working in Germany. From the 17th of April I will attend a conference in South Carolina. This is my first time in USA, and I would like to see the nature there. So I plan to visit one national park on the second week of my stay (all my collegues go to NY, etc, but i am not interested in big smelly cities). 

There are just so many options, therefore i am seeking for advice and trip ideas... I would be interested in a few day hiking and camping with pro tour guide (if some fishing is involved, even better! :) ). I am an amateur hiker, but in good physical condition (mainly doing MTB for sport, here in the Black Forest). So far i was checking tours in Yosemite and Yellowstone. Can you recommend me something? Thanks very much for help and info! :)

Yellowstone will be super-cold and snowy in early May.  Yosemite Valley should be nice and not over-crowded, though the high country will still be snowy, and the Tioga Pass road likely closed.

The deserts of southern Utah and northern Arizona can be among the nicest places at that time of year.  I'd suggest visiting some part of Canyonlands, Capitol Reef, Zion, and Escalante.  Moab is famous for its mountain biking, but Phil's World near Cortez, Colorado would probably be more fun.

Thanks for the suggestions! Actually after seeing some photos from the Yosemite, I cannot resist, I must see that place :)

I started to check different options for hiking, I think in two ways: staying 5-6 days in a hotel/forest lodge and hike around from morning to evening, or real hiking&camping for 3-4 nights out in the park. For the second option, since I am not a experienced hiker with camping skills, I would hire a pro guide and also rent camping/hiking gears. I try to get info and quotes from different tour companies...