Trying to decide on a tent

Reflex

I am new at buying serious gear and want to go light when backpacking solo. But I will also be doing car camping with my 6 year old. So not sure of to:

Get 1 tent for car camping (like a roomy REI) and another for backpacking?

Or one tent that can do both.....

I was about to choose between:

-Big Agnes Fly Creek Platinum which is about 1 lb 15oz 

-Big Agnes Copper Spur 2 which is about 3lb 02 total, roomier.

-6 Moons Lunar Duo Explorer or Outfitter Tarp

Not sure how much lighter can it get with the 6 Moons Tarps?

thoughts?

I have no knowledge of the 6 Moons tent but between the Big Agnes Fly Creek Platinum and the Copper Spur UL2 I would recommend the Copper Spur. 

With the Fly Creek tent, you have to crawl in and then turn around to orient yourself properly, and that is tough :wacko: if two people are using it. 

The Copper Spur has dual side entries, making entry and exit easy :). The Copper Spur also has two decent sized vestibules to keep gear for both out of the rain. 

Good luck with choosing a new tent. 

Edited by PaulGS
  • Like 2

Thank you. Well there is a 1 lb difference between both models. Trying to fig out if that 1lbs less is worth the Fly Creek.....?

Edited by Reflex

I'm in the same boat and have been relying on various website comparisons and ratings for my choices.  Thus far the Big Agness Copper Spur UL2 is one that is in my top three choices. So far I'm whittling down to the Hilleberg Anjan 2, the Copper Spur and the MSR Hubba Hubba Nx but I also want to see more about the Hillberg Niak 1.5 when it comes out. 

If I was choosing for a car camping only tent, I would be looking in a whole different category and something allot bigger since weight wouldn't be an issue. Even the coleman instant tent would get my vote if I was pulling up, setting up and entertaining a  six year old all at the same time. 

• Premium Member
Aaron Zagrodnick