Tent Stake Hammer?

NWnoob

Hey All!

I'm new! not just to here, but to forums in general and while we are on the subject, I'm new to backpacking as well. (Though after I describe what we do, you may want to argue whether what we do would even be considered backpacking.) So please forgive me if I didn't see this posted elsewhere (I looked) or if ask this in the wrong place (still new).

TL;DR - I need a tent stake hammer so i don't break so many tent stakes, but that are not heavy and awkward to carry... anything cool out there? Or did the camping companies forget about this tool?

That being said, My family and I have always camped at sites where the car is a short walk away (if not IN our campsite). I got pretty used to being able to bring whatever I wanted with me and never having to worry about over-packing (The way I always looked at it was, if the family fits when I'm done packing, then its not too much!)

Now the kids are getting older and they want to go on adventures and combine the two. We're not talking days on end with super ultra lightweight gear (at least not yet... We'll see how this goes for now.) Our version of backpacking is going out for a 4-6 hour hike, setting up camp, exploring our surroundings, then cooking dinner and crashing. Then basically just hiking back to the car the next day while exploring along the way. This summer we will try to push that a little maybe hike back to the car and re-stock on food then heading out in a different direction and doing a second night.