Stoves???

Adventure Stu

Adventure Stu

Hi, I am new to backpacking and will need to get a stove soon ready for my summer trips. I was looknig at an MSR Whisper but when I went to my local outdoor store they suggested a Jetboil. I am now confused :confused:.

Suggestions please :D:D

Stu

• Premium Member
Aaron Zagrodnick

Hey Stu, a lot of people have had good success with Jetboil stoves. Personally, I like the Soto WindMaster canister stove for most trips, here's a review:

http://www.trailgroove.com/issue8.html?autoflip=59

Ted had a great breakdown of your basic stove types with some suggestions in Issue 18 as well:

http://www.trailgroove.com/issue18.html?autoflip=11

Let us know how it works out!

I use a pocket rocket for most trips in the summer. When it gets colder, I go to a whisperlite due to not wanting to have issues with fuel cell pressure.

The pocket rocket, canister stabilization stand, foldable spoon and fork, mini bic, and 4 oz fuel cell fit into a gsi halulite 1.1 boiler. This is my entire cook kit. nice package.

I boil water for oatmeal and coffee in the am, coffee at lunch, and water for tea and a mountain house (2c) at night. at this rate, I get more than 4 full days on one canister (probably could do 6+, but have not tried that yet)

Hi, I am new to backpacking and will need to get a stove soon ready for my summer trips. I was looknig at an MSR Whisper but when I went to my local outdoor store they suggested a Jetboil. I am now confused :confused:.

Suggestions please :D:D

Stu

Would you like to be more confused? I used a Jetboil all last summer. I also have a Pocket Rocket. The Jetboil is much faster for boiling water. I don't really like canister stoves - Always a problem with ending a trip with a partially filled canister.